Preview Iran vs Oman – Asian Cup 2019 Round of 16

Iran face dangerous Oman for a spot in the Quarter Finals

The round of 16 kicks off today for Iran as they face Oman. Oman qualified to the the round of 16 as one of the best third place teams. While that may seem like Oman is a weak team Iran would be mistaken to under estimate the Omanis.

Iran’s first round performance was a mixed bag. Dominating performances against Yemen and Vietnam left the Iranian team assured of a spot in the round of 16. However the last group match was a mixed bag. Against Iraq the Iranian team seemed disorganized and not focused. It may have been due to the numerous changes Carlos Queiroz made to the team but Iranian fans were left less confident of the team. A massive save by Ali Reza Beiranvand saved Iran from potentially losing the match.

Oman was in group F alongside Japan, Oman and Turkmenistan. They lost to Uzbekistan 2-1, to Japan 1-0 and beat Turkmenistan 3-1. Clearly not great results but good enough to get through. Their performance against both Uzbekistan and Japan was very respectable. They had the opportunity to get results out of those two matches but they were missing the luck factor.

The match is bound to be very entertaining. Queiroz’s men need to have a statement match. A match in which they not only win, because losing would mean the end of the road, but to do so quite confidently and comfortably. It is unlikely to be comfortable but the unpredictability of Queiroz’s team means we have to wait and see.

Kick off: 21:00 Abu Dhabi Time / 12:00 Eastern Time / 20:30 Tehran time.